Never Flinch, Never Fear, Nevernight: Review

298459064.75 / 5 stars

Title: Nevernight

Series: The Nevernight Chronicle #1

Author: Jay Kristoff

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: YA/NA/Adult (??) Fantasy

Date:  12th August 2016

Format: Paperback

Source: eARC from NetGalley; physical book provided by HarperCollins Australia.

GoodreadsBookDepository Booktopia

Summary from GoodReads:

Destined to destroy empires Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in the shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows loves her. And they drink her fear.

Overall Thoughts:

Nevernight is written extremely well, with incredible world-building and character development. From start to finish I loved Mia as a character, and thought she was just an amazing female protagonist. She is a kickass girl with some awesome skills (that you’ll find out about as soon as you pick this one up), but what amazed me the most was her complexity and depth as a character. Despite the story focusing on Mia, it is narrated by an unknown voice (who according to Mister Kristoff himself, we actually meet through the course of the novel – I have my suspicions about who this might be!!).  Throughout the course of the novel Mia undergoes some self-realisation and grows as a person, as she makes friends, enemies, and perhaps starts to fall in love (and lust..teehee!!).  😉

Nevernight is told in third person narrative, with annotations scattered throughout the chapters. These annotations were kinda frustrating for me, as it REALLY slowed down the pace and … ugh…. I’m not sure I liked them. In saying that, I thought that the annotations provided a tonne of background information about the religion and the world itself. So despite the ridiculous pacing they created (although I will say in the more action-packed chapters, there were no annotations, so that was good!) the annotations definitely enhanced my reading experience. By the end of the book, the world, religion and unique sayings felt completely familiar to me.

20160817_202419

<—–I really enjoyed this novel. I mean, look, I tabbed the CRAP out of it… and I DON’T tab books. Ever.

It was hilarious and smutty and as bloody as anything, and it definitely made for an interesting reading experience. I don’t really know whether to call it YA, New Adult or even adult, but just be advised that there is gore, sex and swearing (no spoilers I promise, just don’t go buying this for your 12 year old… :/ ).

I loved so many of the side characters; they all felt so real and amazing (and EVIL… some of them anyways..!!). Mia and Tricky are my babies, and I LOOOOVVVVEEE them so much!! The characters as a whole went through so much together, and I really need the next book so I can see what happens next. Speaking of the next book, I feel like the ending of this one was weaker than the rest of the book. By that I mean that it really didn’t feel like a conclusion, which makes sense since this IS a series. But still. I wanted a little more from the ending; it felt very open-ended, but I guess I’ll just have to wait to see what happens next.

Likes:

  • It is so FREAKING HILARIOUS… see the pale green tabs in the photo above? That’s how many times I laughed out loud…in public!!

“Well, you call your horse Legend, you’re letting people think you’re some hero in a storybook. You call your horse Thunderhoof…..gods, you might as well hang a sign about your neck saying ‘I have a peanut for a penis'”.

  • There was a perfect combination of smut *wink, wink*, bloody murder, kickass fight scenes, sprinkled with friendship and romance.
  • There are sooo many plot twists (and turns, bloody hell!) throughout.
  • It breaks so many ‘rules’: Jay talks about periods, and we actually get to see a gal ENJOYING sex!! A lot!!!
  • Mia wasn’t by any stretch a ‘perfect’, fearless protagonist. She has fears and worries too. And a conscience. Thank god.
  • The magic/fantasy elements in this are so DARK and delicious and I LOVED them SO MUCH!!!!!

 

Dislikes:

  • I hate to say it, but it was a bit slow cap’n. Some chapters just dragggggggged on…
  • A couple of the plot twists I predicted (but only a couple..most of them were like: HOLY CRAP!? WTF?!?!)
  • Erm, well, there were a few things I didn’t enjoy, to do with the characters. But I can’t say anything here…its spoilery. Just read it and weep, I mean, enjoy :/

!! Spoilery Section Below !!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Okkkkkaaaayyyysssss…!!!! Last chance to leave if you haven’t read Nevernight. But if you have, here’s a few of my thoughts… And forgive me, they’re a teeny bit scattered. Thanks JAY!! :/

  • Why did little Tricky have to die…? I’m hoping like hell that SOMEHOW he magically survived and we get to see his sexy – *ahem* – sweet face again in book 2. But that’s not likely to happen, is it? Sigh… freaking Ashlinn. Hmmph. 😦
  • I cried at the beginning. Why did we have to snap the poor Captain Puddle’s neck, I mean, c’mon Jay, where’s your heart?!
  • Those sex scenes….holy CRAP… I normally don’t like smutty scenes in books, but this was done SO well!! *claps for Jay* More please…??
  • I reallly don’t trust Mister Kindly. Did you see how he responded when Mia didn’t have nightmares, when she slept with Tric? I don’t trust him one bit. Grrr.
  • Does anyone else think that Mister Kindly might be the narrator? He kinda talks as if he isn’t human like Mia.
  • Also, right until the end, I really liked Ashlinn. I thought her and Mia were becoming great friends. I wanted Mia to have more friends (at least she has Naev left..JAY don’t you DARE hurt HER!!). P.S that kiss between Ashlinn and Mia; do you think it was a real kiss or meant to be a distraction? I feel like Ashlinn was kinda trying to protect Mia, in a weird way.

If anyone wants to discuss anything spoilery, feel free to message me on Goodreads

 

 

Leave a Reply

