Review: The Killer in Me (Spoiler Free)

KillerInMe★★★★

Title: The Killer in Me

Author: Margot Harrison

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Genre: Thriller/Contemporary

Date:  9th July 2016

Pages: 368

Format: ebook

Source: eARC provided via NetGalley


Okay, hopefully you’ve already checked out the Blog Tour post for all of the important information, plus an awesome giveaway. If not, head on over now:

The Killer in Me Blog Tour


My Thoughts:

The Killer in Me has a really original premise. The protagonist, Nina, has been experiencing visions of a murderer. She witnesses violent, bloody acts, and she doesn’t know why. Immediately a question arose; is Nina crazy, or is SHE the murderer?

From page 1 I was hooked, and I needed to know what happened next. The writing and the pacing go hand-in-hand; fast-paced, gripping and perfect for this story. I sped through this book without stopping, and I adored every word. The ending is unexpected and concluded the story really well, and we get to experience Nina’s character arc firsthand, as she progresses through the novel.

This novel is written in first-person narrative from two character’s perspectives. The chapters alternate between Warren and Nina, and because of this writing style, it was easy to get attached to both characters. For the first half of the novel, Nina feels like an unreliable narrator. You’re not sure if she’s telling the truth; not sure if she’s crazy or not.

The exploration into adoption, family and friendship was brief, but it definitely presented some food-for-thought. As someone whose mother was adopted, I love seeing adoption being explored in novels, and I especially enjoy watching a positive relationship develop between characters and their birth parents. Nina also has a great relationship (for the most part), with her adopted mother, which I loved. Positive family interactions are something that I delight in reading about. I also found it fantastic that Nina’s mum is a lesbian. She is in the book, but nobody batted an eyelid at her sexuality. It was accepted, and portrayed in a positive way. Fantastic.

The teeny bit of romance in this novel was perfect. It was like adding a splash of vanilla to cupcakes… it sweetened it up, but didn’t overwhelm the story. I personally liked the two characters, and was really happy that a romance blossomed between them.

I don’t really know what else to say, other than: please go pick up this book. Even if you don’t normally read thrillers (like me), I would really recommend that you give it a try. It’s a fast, fantastic read, and I don’t think you’ll regret it one bit. In fact, you might even thank me.

Leave a Reply

