Review: The Industry (Spoiler Free)

12707929.jpg★★★★

Title: The Industry

Author: Rose Foster

Publisher: HarperCollins (Aus)

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Date:  1st July 2016

Pages: 312

Format: Paperback

Source: Book sent to me by the author.

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Kirra Hayward is an ordinary sixteen year old – smarter than most, but otherwise completely anonymous. When she stumbles across an unusual puzzle on the internet and manages to solve it, she has no idea of what she’s letting herself in for. Kidnapped by a shadowy organisation known only as The Industry, Kirra soon discovers how valuable her code-breaking skills are. And when she stubbornly refuses to help them, they decide to break her … by any means at their disposal. Kirra knows that to protect herself, she must trust no one, not even her fellow prisoner, Milo. But as time goes by she realises he might be the only person she can rely on ..

 

My Thoughts:

I really liked this book. It was fast-paced, action-packed and had so many unexpected plot twists. I typically don’t pick up thriller/mystery books, but I am glad I got the chance to read this one, as it was a great story.

I really liked Kirra as a main character, she is academically smart, but also has a good dose of common sense. Her character arc was different to a lot of other books, with Kirra learning not to trust anyone, rather than the other way around. She is an intelligent, caring girl, and I got really attached to her through the course of the book.

Some of the other side characters, which I won’t name due to spoilers, I couldn’t decide whether I liked them or not, but I suppose more will be revealed in the sequel. Due to Kirra’s compassion and her relationship with other characters, I felt very emotional when certain characters were hurt or killed, and this really enhanced my reading experience.

As far as the writing goes, I felt that the pacing alternated during chapters, with it picking up in speed whenever something exciting happened. I enjoyed the writing, and I felt that the pacing worked well, aside from a couple of very slow chapters. The explanations about The Industry are far apart and brief, but this is definitely intentional, and I can’t wait to find out more in the second book.

Throughout the book I was constantly surprised by what happened next. Every plot twist was well executed, unexpected and shocking. You learn so much about Kirra through how she responds to these events, and she definitely proves to be a strong, determined, caring character.  However, whilst the book was filled with plot twists and surprises, I didn’t feel like much was achieved over the course of the story. It acted as a vessel for character exploration and development, and set the scene well for the sequel, which is coming out this month.

I definitely liked this book, and I am so ready to dive into the sequel. I want to know what happens to Kirra, and all of the other characters, and I cannot wait to see what direction the story takes.

If you like action books, thrillers or mysteries, I would highly recommend that you check this one out. The sequel is coming out this month (July), and it is the perfect chance to pick up The Industry.

 

 

One thought on “Review: The Industry (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

